Huggies Forum

1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. General Baby Topics
  4. General Discussion
  5. Advice about possible croup please

Advice about possible croup please Lock Rss

Hey babes,

I think my 2yr old son has croup and my daughter might get it next.
They stayed at a friends house who's son had it but we thought he was over it by the time they stayed.

It started with the sniffles and we thought he was just getting a mild cold. Last night he woke up with a fever and the barking cough. He also threw up but i think that was because he kept swallowing phelm. I gave him panadol and within an hour or so the fever was gone, he had stopped barking and he could breathe through his nose again.

I tried to get a doctors appointment but she is all booked out until 5.10 and i start work halfhour away at 5.30 and cant afford to miss it.

Do the kids have to go to the doctors or can we ride it out like a cold?

Im new to this one so any advice would be great.

Hey babes,

I think my 2yr old son has croup and my daughter might get it next.
They stayed at a friends house who's son had it but we thought he was over it by the time they stayed.

It started with the sniffles and we thought he was just getting a mild cold. Last night he woke up with a fever and the barking cough. He also threw up but i think that was because he kept swallowing phelm. I gave him panadol and within an hour or so the fever was gone, he had stopped barking and he could breathe through his nose again.

I tried to get a doctors appointment but she is all booked out until 5.10 and i start work halfhour away at 5.30 and cant afford to miss it.

Do the kids have to go to the doctors or can we ride it out like a cold?

Im new to this one so any advice would be great.
Oh no.....Croup is the pitts. My DS has had it a few times and ended up overnight in hospital with it last time.