Huggies Forum

1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Toddler
  4. Sleep & Settling
  5. to all those bleary eyed mums and dads

to all those bleary eyed mums and dads Lock Rss

Hi!!

I would like to say that I REALLY understand and empathise with you all about your kiddies who don't sleep through the night, who wake up and scream for hours, who vomit, scream themselves to blood noses and dirty nappies, who will only go to bed if their conditions are just right (and even then they will find something not quite right!!), who use every little and big distraction they can think of, and if they do manage to close their eyes open them just as quickly and declare that it is time to get up AGAIN!!!

My hubby and I have been battling this for well over 2 years we have tried sleep clincs, read every book and doccument about sleep settling and have found that these techniques help for only a short while, as she figures out how to elude sleep once again. However, she is almost 2 1/2 years and is almost over this problem.

I was told that most kids will grow out of this, and yes I think this is so true. One of the best things we did for her was to get rid of her dummy we went cold turkey, if she asked for it we told her she was a big girl now and didn't need it. She fussed continuosly for a couple of days and by the end of the first week she had forgotten it and since then it made a HUGE difference to her sleeping. The other thing we did was give her a short bedtime routine as if it was too long she dwelt on the fact she was going to bed and consequently didn't settle at all. We play soft music throughout the night so if she wakes up she hears something familiar, (music for dreaming 2)