Huggies Forum

1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Toddler
  4. Sleep & Settling
  5. 14 month who still sleeps in the bed with us.

14 month who still sleeps in the bed with us. Lock Rss

Hi Im new at this.
My daughter who is almost thirteen months old, still refuses to sleep in her own cot. We have night where I can get her settled and she'll sleep all night, but 4 out of 7 nights she's in the bed with us, just so we can get some sleep.

Any suggestions to what we can do?

Please help.

Chantal, Vic, Expectant Mother

Hi Channy,
My suggestion is trust that your daughter will sleep on her own when she is ready and, in the meantime, enjoy the snuggling.
We struggled to get our daughter to sleep in her cot in her own room for months and months. Finally we decided to just "go with the flow" and have been happy ever since.
My daughter moved into her own bed on the floor beside us when she turned 3 a few months ago. Before that she was in her own cot but we took the bars off one side and pushed it up against our bed like a "side-car". It meant that she was right next to us all night but she didn't take up any room in our bed.
Babies and young children are the same as Stoneage babies and the western practice of babies sleeping alone doesn't meet their innate need for comfort and closeness at night. Darkness means danger to a Stoneage baby - a sabre-toothed tiger is going to come and get her! Your 14 month old doesn't know that she's as safe from predators in her cot as she is in your bed. It will be years before she will learn that. There are more babies in the world sleeping with their parents than babies that are sleeping alone. You may want to do some internet research on "co-sleeping" and "attachment parenting" to see how parents manage it.
If your daughter goes to sleep in your bed, rather than in her own cot, you may find that she feels more secure and doesn't wake up as often at night or at all.
Sleep well!
Lisa

Lisa, AKNZ, 3yr girl

Hi there,