Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Vaginal birth after a caesarean Rss

I was wondering if there is anyone here that has has a vaginal birth after previously having a caesar? I was given an emergency caesarean, and was told that I could try labour again for the next one, but there is a higher chance of a c section. After enduring 20 hours of labour this time, before the caesarean, I am not real keen to go through all that pain again, if it just means having another caesarean. I would love to hear other peoples experiences

Marti, NSW, Baby Boy born on 17th July 2003

I am no expert but why did you end up having the caesarean? If it was due to the baby's size or position next time they can monitor you.

Check with your Dr, if you are really concerned about another long birth many Drs will do elective caesars too.

My best friend had an emergency Caesar due to the baby's heartrate and had a vaginal birth 2nd time round.

Goodluck either way!

DD5, DS3, DS lost to SIDS at 6mths & DD6m

I had a caesarean for a few reasons. He was big, my pelvis is small, and he turned during labour, I have heard bad stories about scars rupturing during labour as well!

Marti, NSW, Baby Boy born on 17th July 2003

Hi marti, I too had an emerg. caesar after 20+ hours of labour. It ain't much fun is it? I haven't had another child yet, but my sister in law who had the same circumstances as us for her first had her second one vaginally quite successfully. So it can be done, and I sincerely hope that I can do it one day! Anyone who thinks a caesarian is the easy way out is very, very wrong!

Vic

My first baby was born by caesar (he was breach) and two years later my daughter was born by vaginal birth. I know of a couple of other mums who have done the same so it is possible! All I can suggest is to get as much info as poss as to why you needed the caesar this time so you can make the best decision. Good luck.

Helen, NZ