Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

going back to work Rss

I want to go back to work but i don't want to miss my first baby and his growing up.
Is there a way i can work at home?

tash,qld,1st baby

HI Tash,
I'm very lucky as I'm a teacher and we have very good maternity leave terms. I found it necessary for my own sanity to return to work but have plenty of friends who gave up once their babies arrived. I went back to work part-time (3 days) when my oldest was 6mths old. It helped that I put her in family day care with a carer who was recommended by a trusted friend at work. When she was 18mths old I worked full time for 11wks before I had to go on maternity leave again. Since then she has attended care 4 days a week even though I'm on leave still as it allows her routine to continue & lets me have time alone with our second (thank God as #2 has reflux and I would have gone completely insane with a toddler at home too).
I'm about to work 2 full weeks before I have my last 2 weeks off & then return 2 days a week from mid Oct through to mid Dec. I'll be then returning to work at the end of Jan for 3 days as week as I did the first time round. I have yet to decide whether I'll do 3 days the following year too but I'll make my decision later. This means that next year my girls will be together for 5 days of the week so they can develop their bond (Mon/Tues in care together & Fri/Sat/Sun at home - Wed & Thurs are our juggling days). It's a lot of juggling but my husband is very supportive and our eldest's pre-school is behind his work, he'll take her there on Wed/Thurs for me.
No doubt you'll come to a decision about work that suits your lifestyle and levels of sanity. Maybe you'll even come upon a great timesaving idea for us busy mums.
Best of luck,
Peta

Peta, NSW, mum of 2 gorgeous girls

Hi,