Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

When should i start solids? Rss

Hi everyone, i am new to this so please HELP?
I am a first time mum to a 3 and a half month old baby girl named Natasha. I am confused as i have been told not too start solids until 4 mths or even 6 mths because babies fed solid at early stages could develop kidney problems, have sore tummys, will be constipated...... and i have also been told to start solids by putting a biscuit in her formula. I have just started her on heinz baby rice cereal and have acctually given her more than one tea spoon at a time as she seemed to be ok with it, i also have tried a little bit of plasmo biscuit in her milk, but not both in one day. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Regards Lidia.

Lidia, Vic, Baby Girl

Hi Lidia,
Doctors and health nurses will tell you not to start solids until at least 4-6 months. I started my 3 kids on solids at 6 weeks. Only rice cereal, until they were 4 months. I just started with one teaspoon mixed with breastmilk (or you can use formula), to make a very runny mixture. I gave this to them in the evening, and they started sleeping through the night immediately. They are now 10.5 years old, 8 years old, and 9 months old, and none of them have or have had any health problems. Others will say not to give solids at such an early age, but my mother-in-law was giving my husband rice cereal (by doctors orders) at 2 weeks of age, as he was drinking 150 mls formula every two hours. He needed more than milk to satisfy him. He has no health problems either. I wouldn't recommend giving her any form of solid food in her bottle though, as she needs to identify the difference in eating and drinking. As she is 3.5 months already, I can't see the harm in starting her on solids now. Good luck.
Tracey

Mother of 3, Qld

Hi Tracey,