Huggies Forum

The Huggies Forum is closed for new replies and topics, you can still read older topics.
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Solids and General Feeding Issues
  5. Looking at starting on Ceral, and I am completely Lost....

Looking at starting on Ceral, and I am completely Lost.... Lock Rss

I have a 3 1/2 month boy, who lately doesn't seem to be completely satsfied with bottle feeds. He's also watches very intently at anyone who eats aound him, as if he wans to give it a go. He is large for his age so i was looking at starting him on a little rice ceral once a day to start with.
i'm new at this though, and I'm completely lst at how to give it to him. I tried it the other night, mixing it in a bowl with some warmed formula, he normally has and tried feeding it to him via a small spoon. He jut seemed to get frustrated though and I nded up giving him a bottle like normal.
I made it like a paste exactly like the directions said, but i wondered wether it's easier to make it runny. Also I have read other posts where mums have put it in the bottles, can this be done, and is it better?

Any recommendations or hints?

Alicia - Baby Aaron (TAS)

Hey Alicia - your 3.5 month old sounds perfectly normal. I think its a really good thing he is analysing you all eating. I found with DD, by the time I started her on solids (6 months) that she already knew what to do.

To me, it sounds like your bubs is not ready for solids. If you are keen for him to have them, maybe give it a week and try again. Maybe next time, don't make the cereal into a paste as such, try and make it just a little thicker than his formula.

I have no experience with a 'large' bub (as such) but it does seem they develop quicker. I wanted to point that out as although it sounds like your bub isn't quite ready, he may well be - just needs a bit more practice before he decides to eat from a spoon.

Best of luck Alicia !

DD is 3yr 8 months - DS is 6 months

Hi Alicia,