Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

Lactose Intolerance Rss

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this and I would love any information on babies with Lactose Intolerance.
Anything on solids and when and if your babies ever grew out of this stage.
Thankyou all,

Candice,QLD, Four children

Hi Hayleys mummy,
You can buy special formula for lactose intolerant babies. It's a case of shopping around for what you are comfortable with and prices do vary greatly. Solids in relation to lactose intolerance? How old is your baby? Apparently babies do not grow out of it. My brother, sister and myself all suffered when we were babies, brother and sister worse. They went on to goat's milk and my brother virtually will not have milk in anything. Mind you I love it and I don't think it's killing me. The intolerance always stays with you, even as an adult. We just cope differently. Check with your doctor or health nurse or even someone at your chemist. They can all help to a certain degree. Also I believe you can buy food 'lactose free'.
Good luck.
Ange
My little girl was lactose intolerant and I gave her goat's milk for a while. She can now tolerate cow's milk which makes things a lot easier. I believe there is a new frozen baby food range out at Woolworths and it is lactose free. I think it is called Motherly. It might help for meal ideas anyway. Hope she grows out of it.

Tanya,QLD, 5yr, 3yr, 6mth

Hi
my son is 2 1/2 and has a dairy intolerance - cant have cows milk. The pedietrician recommended we dont give him goats milk either but he coped fine with that. We have also found he is sensitive to alot of artificial additives, preservatives and colourings.

With solids we found almost everything home made was safe. Rusks have a small percentage of milk - if this affects Haley, try baking bread in the oven until dry and crisp and using that.