Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

Putting Baby To Bed Rss

Wondering if anyone out there has some tips on teaching baby to go to sleep by themselves. My 8mths old is a very good sleeper once asleep, however I have been letting her fall asleep on the breast and now I want to be able to put her to bed awake and get her to fall asleep by herself.
Any ideas would be welcomed.

Tanya, NSW, 2 Girls Alyssa & Danielle

Hi Tanya, I'm no expert as my dd is only 4 months old. Have you tried putting her in the cot awake? How does she react? She doesn't have to be fully awake when you put her in, just aware of what is happening. Have you tried controlled comforting or just sitting with her and patting her gently?

As soon as I see sleepy signals from my dd - rubbing eyes, yawning, getting grumpy - I just scoop her up and head straight for the cot. She knows what's going on and falls asleep shortly after she's in. I've been doing this for a couple of months now and it works for us, but my dd loves being in her cot and I've never really had any trouble putting her in.....

good luck. smiles, kath

mama to Ruby, born in March 2003

Tanya....I have your problem too, and have tried waiting till Sophie is asleep and then putting her down, but then within 10 mins she is crying and awake again. Got any suggestions for that? I'd love to hear them
hi Tanya,

i'm also no expert, i have a 5 1/2 mth old son and during the day he's fine and will go to sleep no problems, but as soon as nite comes and he hits his cot, he's awake and crying. This only started after i stopped breatfeeding as i to let him fall asleep on the breast.

The last week i've been trying to put him down half asleep and (try) letting him cry a little before picking him up again. Although its very hard to hear him cry but i think to myself it'll be better in the long run. And its best he learns to go to sleep on his own, i just hope it works. Maybe u could try that. But i suppose every baby is different