Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

Weaning Rss

Hi everyone. I am a teacher who needs to go back to work just one or two days a week. My son is 7 months old and each of us are enjoying a happy breastfeeding relationship. The problem is I don't know what to do about feeding him while I'm at work. My husband and mum will take care of him and give him his solids but what about milk? I have heard that babies of this age need at least 600 to 700mls a day so I don't want to substitute water. People have suggested expressing but I have just enough at each feed, not enough for extra. Plus I don't want to disrupt my supply for the other days of the week. Should I try formula just for the 2 -3 feeds that I'm away on those days?
The other thing is that he never took to a bottle so whatever he drinks will have to be from a cup while I'm not there. Anyone done this or can suggest anything? I feel quite confused and uneasy about returning to work.

Laura DS July 03, DD Oct 05, DD Nov 08

Hi Laura,
It is fine to give him formula on the days you are at work. You should be able to give him a bf in the morning, and then after you get home, so it would only be one, or two feed each day that you work. It shouldn't disrupt your supply, as you are only working a couple of days per week.

Instead of trying to give him a bottle, try him on the Heinze "firsts" cup. They have a smaller one from 4 months of age, but my son has been on the larger one (from 9 months & holds 280mls) since he was 6 months old and drinks out of it fine. They are non spill, so there is no worry about them tipping it over and spilling. They are priced around $8 for the smaller one, and $13 for the larger on (Qld prices) and are sold at Coles and Woolworths supermarkets. I highly recomend them. Good luck.
Tracey

Mother of 3, Qld

Hi Laura,