Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

fear of water Rss

Hi mums and dads,

I'm new to the scene and I hope to gain some advise from others like me.

I have an 18mth old girl, who is learning to become familiar in a pool. I have one major problem, she hates water on her face, it's the same during bath time and when I wash her face.

She goes crazy and gets very upset. Does anyone have any tips for me to make bath time and swim time more fun.
Hi! My daughter is 7 1/2 months and hates having her face washed, however, we have been going to swimming lessons and she is coping well with all the water activities, including going under water. There are other children in the class who are older (12 months - 2 years) some of the older kids seem to hate going under water. I think the ones that have been going to lessons from a young age are fine but the kids that started later are afraid. The instructor encourages them to go under even if they hate it. I think the idea is they will develop confidence the more they do it.

Sorry, I have no strategies. I just wanted to let you know to persevere with the swimming!
Curly,

I have recently changed swim schools for my son as he for some reason lost all confidence in the water and as a result would scream and cry whenever he was in the water.

Luckily I was recommended a new swim school by my sister in-law, which is temprature controlled, shallow depth, and full of toys.

He is a changed boy. He loves going underwater now and has graduated from learning water confidence to actual swimming.

I believe that a good swim school with quality instructors is the key to kids learning to enjoy the water and to their safety in it.

Look around and get recommendations from friends and family. My son's swim school is in Brisbane and is called Shapland Swim School.

Therese, BRISBANE, 3yr old boy 6 wk girl

Hi Curly,