Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Baby's Growth & Development
  5. speaking two languages at home

speaking two languages at home Rss

Hi my name is tash Iam 30 years old and I have a 7 year old and a 1 year old.. I speak spanish to my kids at home and there dad speaks to them in english.I think it is a gift for a child to learn another language, what do you think tash

tash nsw 1 year old

What you are doing for your kids is great. I am currently doing a masters in Linguistics and there has been plenty of research to support this kind of thing. Does their dad speak spanish as well? If he does, you should consider having him speak spanish at home as well. They hear enough English through TV, radio and friends/relatives, at the shops at school/day care etc for them to learn english really well even if spanish is the only language spoken at home. I speak German, but am too lazy to speak it to my 6mth daughter. English is just so much easier. Keep it up!
Hi, my name is David and have a beautiful little 8 month old girl Monique. My wife is Indonesian and I am Canadian. We will be teaching our children both languages as well as Spanish and French when the time comes. My cousins in Canada have two boys and put them into French Emersion school from the start. They are only allowed to read/write and speak French at school for the first few years and then learn another language before they get to grade 4, then they learn to read and write English. They speak perfect English with a Canadian accent but also know how to speak French as well. This is what I want for my kids as it will give them that added edge in life. They will also be able to travel comfortably in most of the world. You are doing the right thing. Good Luck to you and your kids.

David, Sydney, 8 mth baby

Hi tash,