Huggies Forum

1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. General Baby Topics
  4. General Discussion
  5. u wont work christmas day? your fired!

u wont work christmas day? your fired! Rss

has any one got the sack for not wanting to work on your daughters(or son) first christmas day, or as they put it i was inflexible to work, when i started at the position doing 30 hour weeks when i was only supposed to do 16 hour weeks
please get how you feel off your chest
unfair dismissal you say? thing is i couldnt do a thing about it!!!!!! please share your stories
dsnt have to be christmas day you wouldnt work

DD may 03, DS oct 06

Yeah I had a similar situation.--- I was a department manager in a well known supermarket and had just gotten married, the store manager knew I wanted to start a family straight away but asked me what my intentions were. As I should step down from my position so other people could move up the ladder as I would not be getting any more promotions if I chose to have a family. >:-<

Aileen, nsw, Macenzie17 months plus 1 edd 4/11/04

i think that what you both experienced is a form of discrimination and you should try to take it further.
The store manager had no right to ask your intentions re. family.
Also working xmas day? sounds like a call centre of some sort. I work in one and they always work on a volunteer basis. If the company gets enough vounteers then even if you are rostered for that day you don't have to work it and you still get paid. smile

Sorry I can't be of help, but you just don't need that sort of attitude when most companies say they want us to balance work, family & leisure - but when push comes to shove most of them don't come to the party when asked for time off they usually quote - it does not meet our business needs to get out of it!!!

>:-<