Huggies Forum

1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Caring for your Baby
  5. when is too soon to return to work??

when is too soon to return to work?? Lock Rss

I'm a teacher and am wondering if 4 -5 weeks is too early to return to work after bub gets here.... any thoughts??
I would say yes but really its up to you. What do you think? I know myself I couldn't have fathomed leaving my boys for extended periods when they were that old. At 4-5 weeks old you are still getting to know your bubba. Would you be going back full or part time? And who would be looking after bubs

I really don't think it is enough time. What happens if you have a c-section? You're not meant to drive or do anything strenuous for at least 6wks in that case. 4-5wks goes by SO fast and like DW mentioned, you're still getting to know your bub at that point.

Can I ask why you want to go back so soon? Can't you get maternity and Paid Parental Leave?

Wow, that's really soon. If you don't have to, I would wait as long as you can. But understand that sometimes you have to do these things. But baby's grow up so fast!
I think it's to soon, I think you should give yourself atleast 3months, but at the end of the day its your choice. Good luck with your decision and good luck with your pregnancy smile
In my opinion it's way too soon. Breastfeeding is usually still getting established at that time. Unless you are going to be taking baby with you to work then no I wouldn't do it at 4 weeks. For me personally absolute earliest I would go back would be 3 months if I had to and had no other choice. I would only be returning under duress lol.